A high school graduate joins Jeff Bezos to space

    The anonymous bidder who was originally to join Jeff Bezos’ space expedition for $28 million said they would not be able to make it due to “scheduling conflicts.”
    In turn, 18-year-old Oliver Daemen who was to participate in the second flight took the bidder’s spot.

    NEW SHEPARD, VAN HORN — Sources say Joes Daemen, the father, purchased the spot for his son Oliver. It is not disclosed how much he paid. Joes Daemen is the founder of and CEO of Somerset Capital Partners, an investment firm based in the Netherlands.

    Oliver will become the youngest person ever to fly to space while Wally Funk, another passenger, will become the oldest at 82 years old.

    The flight will commence on 20 July. Watch the launch beginning at 6:30 am CDT/ 11:30 UTC. Liftoff targeted for 8:00 am CDT / 13:00 UTC.

    The $28 million bid to Bezos’ rocket company, Blue Origin, was donated to its nonprofit group, Club for the Future. The group then donated $19 million to a variety of space-focused nonprofits such as Brooke Owens Fellowship and Space Camp.

    According to the company’s website, there are a few limitations on who can take a New Shepard flight: Everyone must be 18 years or older, be in good enough physical shape to climb seven flights of stairs in a minute and a half, be between 5’0″ and 6’4″ in height and between 110 pounds and 223 pounds in weight.

    Passengers must also be able to fasten and unfasten their seat harness in less than 15 seconds, spend up to an hour and a half strapped into the capsule with the hatch closed, and withstand up to 5.5G in force during descent. (HMP/The MiNT)


    Featured image: New Shepard Crew capsule descends from space mission NS-15 on 14 April 2021. /Credit: Blue Origin

    LEAVE A REPLY

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here